I Missed the Bus!

27 Jul

And I’m never ever ever gonna do it again.

Shout out to the West Leigh Posse circa 1998! We’d purposefully miss the bus in the hopes that whoever had to drive us to school would stop for donuts on the way. Or was that only my ultimate goal? The worst was when Bus Driver Bill saw us hiding behind the powerlines and kept the bus at the stop for way too long. I think one of us had to pretend we were getting sick in order for him to leave. And I wonder why my first boyfriend wasn’t until college…

Anyway, Tony and I are NOT going to miss the bus on our upcoming trip to NYC for his cousin’s wedding. We are going up Saturday morning and coming home Sunday afternoon so we didn’t want to mess with the hassle of flying and don’t want to pay for parking in the city, so we’re taking the bus! Our expectations are very low since we’ve only taken the Chinatown bus, but from what we’ve heard Bolt and Megabus are much better.

Fares are comparable, so I wanted to hear what others thought about the two companies. Which bus would you take from DC to NYC? Leave a comment with your reasoning if you have a strong opinion either way!

6 Responses to “I Missed the Bus!”

  1. Katie July 28, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    I have taken both, but after giving it more consideration, I think I prefer Bolt. I think the customer service is better. The megabus people who get you on the bus seem to hate life. Plus, I think Bolt’s stop (hellllo Sbarro) might be closer to your hotel.

    • Nicole July 28, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      Thanks Katie! Bolt is winning so far and I definitely like that it is closer to our destination.

  2. will July 27, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    Both are pretty good and both are owned by Greyhound. You will probably get the same level of service with each provider. Megabus sells tickets starting at $1 and “makes the best effort to provide wifi.” I usually go with the cheaper of the two and avoid any of the “classic” Chinatown bus companies.

    It might be beneficial to look into taking the train. It’s always on time, never hits traffic, and has a plethora of bathrooms! If the prices are similar and/or you are taking little C, this might be the best mode of travel.

    Have fun!!

    • Nicole July 28, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

      Thanks Will! Little C will be hanging at the house with Nana and Papa, but we’ll check out the train too!

  3. Jaclyn July 27, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    I’ve only taken the megabus and the ride there was a GREAT experience (had the whole back row to ourselves!) but the ride back was a little hot and crowded… I’ve heard good things about the boltbus!

    • Nicole July 28, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      Thanks Jaclyn! Holla to the back row!

Leave a Comment

