Black Bean & Cheese Taquitos

30 Jul

I promise I will post more than just recipes on this blog. I’m just having fun actually experimenting in the kitchen while I continue the long and tedious search for a job in Austin. Today’s recipe is a variation of something I used to eat from the freezer A LOT in college. I decided to try to make a “healthier” version by limiting some of the fatty ingredients as much as I could and opting to bake instead of fry. I have to say I was pretty surprised at how well they turned out! Let me know what you think and if you would make any substitutions. If I had to make some changes for next time, I think I would try corn tortillas (the whole wheat proved to be a little too heavy) and I might also add some corn inside and skip the cheese – yum!

Black Bean & Cheese Taquitos

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of black beans
  • ½ medium onion, minced
  • ½ tablespoon oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • ½ teaspoon chipotle chili powder (or cayenne powder)
  • ½ teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup reduced-fat shredded cheese
  • 6-8 whole wheat tortillas
  • Cilantro (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Add 2 cups of water to a small pot and heat to a simmer.
  3. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat – add onion and sauté. 
  4. Stir in garlic, chipotle chili powder, paprika, and salt and cook for an additional 2 minutes.
  5. Add black beans to mixture and cook until the beans are completely heated.
  6. Line a baking sheet with parchment/wax paper and spray lightly with cooking spray.
  7. Dip tortillas, one at a time, in the hot water and then place on a cutting board and add one scoop of the black bean mixture and one small pinch of cheese.
  8. Roll tortilla tight and place seam-side down on the baking sheet.
  9. Spray all “taquitos” lightly with cooking spray.
  10. Bake taquitos for 12 minutes, turning them over once halfway through.

Serve with salsa and sour cream for an easy and delicious meal. A little guac on the side would also be absolutely de-lish!

7 Responses to “Black Bean & Cheese Taquitos”

  1. maiamajumder August 9, 2012 at 3:14 am #

    I remember freezer taquitos from my chubster childhood… So delicious and so, so horrible for the insides! Haha. I can’t wait to try these myself… They look amazing and honestly, they’re just conjuring up great memories! 🙂

    • Deirdre August 9, 2012 at 11:03 am #

      I know! Love recreating the stuff I loved when I was little so I can have it now without feeling quite so bad 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Laura July 30, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    These look so good! I am making them this week..with guac of course! Thanks Giada Dean!

    • Deirdre July 30, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

      Let me know how they turn out!!

  3. recipeshappen July 30, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    I used to work at Taco Bell, and let me tell you…
    these taquitos look SOOOO much better than what they sell. I haven’t eaten at Taco Bell for ages. For good reason. haha. 🙂

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com

    • Deirdre July 30, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

      🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Charlie says… « Lauerland - July 31, 2012

    […] black bean & cheese taquito recipe could not have arrived at a better […]

Leave a Comment

