Go Fish: Honey Cilantro Salmon

7 Aug

This is completely irrelevant to the subject of this post, but I just have to share.  After a quick trip to the grocery store, I was reorganizing the fridge a bit so that I could fit a a few more things in there.  It’s typical that I pull out a container of cottage cheese, maybe even two, that Firas has inevitably forgotten about once they get tucked away in the dark corners of the fridge behind the more enticing foods… fruit, cheese, yogurt, juice, butter, etc.  Cottage cheese is Firas’ Velveteen Rabbit of healthy foods.  And then there’s me.  I. hate. cottage. cheese.  I will never come back to the ol’ faithful chunky cottage cheese because I was never a fan in the first place.  So when I was finished reorganizing and turned back to the counter to take care of the fridge rejects, you better believe I snapped a photo and sent it to Firas with the message, “What’s wrong with this picture?”

I swear he picks a new one up every time he’s at the store.  Five tubs of cottage cheese is just ridiculous.  It also makes me think that our fridge is absolutely gigantic.  And yes, for the person with the magnifying glass who zoomed in on the June expiration date of the top container, we should clean out our fridge more often.  Don’t judge.

On to much fresher things… Honey Cilantro Salmon!

It is an incredibly easy recipe and I’m not lying when I say it is one of the most flavorful fish dishes I have ever eaten.  I am typically not very daring with my fish marinades – I tend to stick to the lemon, olive oil, salt and pepper in foil tents… which is good, but nothing extraordinary.  I’m glad I ventured out of my comfort zone this time.  I hope you give it a shot!

Ingredients:

2 salmon fillets

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 cup honey

1 bunch chopped cilantro leaves (use as little or as much as you like – I used about 1/4 – 1/3 cup)

Juice from one lime

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a small saucepan over medium-low heat, stir together cilantro, garlic, honey, and lime juice. Heat until the honey has thinned out and is easy to stir, approx. 5 minutes. Remove from heat; allow to cool slightly.
  2. Place salmon in a baking dish, and season with salt and pepper. Pour marinade over salmon, cover, and refrigerate for 20 minutes or more.
  3. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  4. Bake, uncovered, for 20-25 minutes or until fish is easily flaked with a fork.
  5. Enjoy!

*My initial plan was to put the salmon fillets on the grill, but running out of propane combined with little energy for a second trip to the store led me to Plan B.  I’m sure grilling it would be delicious, too!

What’s your go-to fish marinade?  Do tell!

2 Responses to “Go Fish: Honey Cilantro Salmon”

  1. recipeshappen August 7, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    That looks really delicious!
    I have some salmon in my freezer right now. Thanks for sharing!!

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Charlie says… « Lauerland - August 10, 2012

    […] going to try any Lauerland recipes this weekend? My folks are going to make the honey cilantro salmon dish that Aunt Jac suggested. I’d try to sneak a bite, but apparently I’m not supposed […]

Leave a Comment

