She’s a Cool…. Haus.

14 Aug

I grew up eating ice cream sandwiches. In my opinion, they truly are the perfect summer treat. I’m not a big fan of getting food on my hands while eating (hence the reason I go through 14 napkins at each meal), but I have absolutely no problem with getting sticky chocolate cookie on my fingers and having to lick it off afterwards. And an even better version of the ice cream sandwich… a chipwich. The classic gas station ice cream novelty. Vanilla ice cream sandwiched between two chocolate chip cookies. I enjoyed these as a kid, but my best friend Dana and I have also consumed several way too many of these as adults. Road trips, hot summer days, random surprise for your friend who’s pumping gas… so many reasons to enjoy a chipwich.

I had heard rumors about this highly rated ice cream sandwich trailer in Austin. While it sounded like something I would love, I never took the time to hunt it down as there are eight trillion food trailers in Austin and I am often overwhelmed by our options. Lucky for me, we literally stumbled across it last weekend when my Mom and Aunt Lori were in town. We were on the east side for breakfast, and we came across the Hope Farmer’s Market (located at 5th and Waller). The Market itself is worth revisiting, but even more so once we reached the end of the lane of vendors to find this gem, in all her glory:

The options are endless. They have so many flavors of both ice cream and cookie that you could try out hundreds of different combinations. And bonus! She let us try as many samples as we wanted. I’m sure she didn’t expect us to pass around the tiniest spoon in America with one bite of ice cream between the four of us, but hey, beats her scooping out the same flavor four times. Since we couldn’t decide on just one kind of cookie, she suggested we do a different cookie for each side. Mmm, don’t have to tell us twice. We opted for brown butter and bacon (!) ice cream sandwiched between a peanut butter cookie and a coconut almond (think samoa) cookie. So strange, but so good.

The Coolhaus trailer is parked at the Hope Farmer’s Market every Sunday from 10 am – 2 pm. And good news for those who don’t live in Austin – it turns out that they have Coolhaus trailers in Dallas, Miami, New York, and Los Angeles! If you live in any of these cities, I suggest you go and get your haus cooled as soon as you can.

7 Responses to “She’s a Cool…. Haus.”

  1. Nicole August 16, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    In honor of this post, 2 Trader Joe’s ice cream sandwiches are sitting in the freezer awaiting your arrival today! I know they won’t taste as good as Coolhaus, but Tony and I tested them (to make sure they weren’t poisoned) and they are quite delicious.

  2. notleah August 15, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    leave it to “the moms” to find the ice cream sandwich truck… ❤

    • Jaclyn August 15, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      Haha, yes indeed. Now you need to come to Austin!!

  3. Lindsey August 14, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    Seriously that ice cream cookie sandwich looks amazing!!!!

  4. maiamajumder August 14, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    This looks truly epic! I will definitely need to try Coolhaus… I love myself a fantastic food truck! This post made me think back to the chipwiches I made for Valentine’s Day this past year… If ever trying it at home, I found that scooping the ice cream between the two homemade cookies, wrapping them in cling-wrap, and then letting them sit in the freezer for 2-3 hours really made for an unbelievable taste experience once eaten!

    • Jaclyn August 15, 2012 at 9:13 am #

      YUM! Will definitely try that!

Leave a Comment

