Image

Run Baby, Run

30 Aug

It’s true.  I don’t run.  Sometimes I walk.  Sometimes I wog = walk jog.  Sometimes I even jog.  But I rarely run.  And by rarely, I mean twice a year.  I would much rather take a class at the gym, use the elliptical, power through the incline trainer, or lift weights.  Running… not so much.

But things are about to change.  Deirdre and I are training for a 5k using the “Couch to 5k” program.  Sounds right up our alley.  Most people are probably thinking, “Whoop-de-doo, a 5k.  Why don’t you really challenge yourself and train for a 10k?”  Trust me when I say that this is a challenge.  And who knows, maybe a 10k is next on our bucket list.  It hasn’t been penciled in yet, and no promises that it will be, but you never know.  We went on our first run last night, which consisted of intervals of running and fast walking, and I think we’ve got this.

Does anyone have any good tips for us?  We  could definitely use some pointers.

And if you see us running on a Sunday morning, don’t pull a Jaclyn and roll your eyes just yet.  We are most likely on our way to brunch to indulge in bacon and mimosas.

3 Responses to “Run Baby, Run”

  1. Nana August 31, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    Marathons – the girls and Uncle Jerry. Guess there’s a new talent in the family.

  2. Lori August 30, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Run now while you’re young. Every time I run (which is really wogging, or wobbling) some child, usually my own, starts laughing.

  3. Nancy August 30, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    You GO Girls!! Lauers don’t traditionally run so this will be monumental in our family history book…. 🙂

Leave a Comment

