You Want Mint For Pillow?

2 Oct

I thought that a quote from Tommy Boy would make for a more intriguing title than “Chicken Broccoli Cashew Stir-Fry”.  So no, I am not able to provide a mint for your pillow, but I AM excited to share a delicious (and easy!) recipe that puts a twist on a classic Asian dish.  I’m a big fan of recipes with very little ingredients.  If I click on a recipe with a catchy title and appetizing picture and am greeted by a daunting list of 100 ingredients, I will immediately click the back button on my browser.  Not happening.  So when I came across this recipe, I realized that I already had over half of the ingredients at home, which meant I only needed to pick up a few things from the grocery store. Winning!  I think the cashews made the dish, so feel free to go a little nuts with them as a topping.  Couldn’t help myself.

Chicken Broccoli Cashew Stir-Fry

Ingredients

  • 3 cups of chopped broccoli
  • 2 large carrots, cut into thin slices
  • 5 oz stir-fry noodles
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into chunks
  • 1 Tbsp reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 3 med scallions, chopped
  • ½ cup reduced-sodium, fat-free chicken (or vegetable) broth
  • ½ cup unsalted cashews
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Process

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil and add broccoli, carrots, and stir-fry noodles. Cover and cook for about 3 to 5 minutes until vegetables are tender. Drain and place ingredients in a large bowl.
  2. Heat olive oil and garlic in a large wok or non-stick skillet over medium-high heat.  Stir and cook for 1 to 2 minutes until garlic starts to golden.
  3. Add chicken and soy sauce and cook for about 7 minutes, until chicken is cooked through. Add scallions and stir-fry for an additional minute.
  4. Stir in noodles, vegetables and broth and heat through.
  5. Place in serving dishes and sprinkle each portion with 1-2 tablespoons of cashews.
  6. Enjoy!

*This is an adapted version of a recipe from Prevention.

2 Responses to “You Want Mint For Pillow?”

  1. wbuckingham October 2, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    You are ridiculous…

  2. Nancy October 2, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    I hope you girls want to cook when you come home for a visit!!

Leave a Comment

